United Nations Committees


According to the Charter, the primary responsibility of the Security Council is the maintenance of international peace and security. The Council consists of 15 member states, with one vote given to each. The 5 permanent member states are granted with a veto power. All of the other 10 member states are elected with two-year terms. Aligned to its task, the Security Council meets whenever peace is threatened. It also has the unique power to make decisions that the member states are obligated to implement.



The Human Rights Council is dealing with human rights being abuses around the world. The UN-member States are working together to find solutions for existing problems and to prevent further abuses. Even though there are many different cultures which ought to be valued, universal rights are a standard that much be respected by all states. These rights include the right to life, right to freedom, right to religious freedom and many others.



UN Women is the global champion for gender equality, working to develop and uphold standards and create an environment in which every woman and girl can exercise her human rights and live up to her full potential. We are trusted partners for advocates and decision-makers from all walks of life, and a leader in the effort to achieve gender equality.

Topics and study guides will be available soon!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s